Hunt County

QUICK FACTS

County Seat

Greenville

Population

86,129

Land Area

882 square miles

Founding
Hunt County is named for Memucan Hunt, Jr., the first Republic of Texas Minister to United States from 1837 to 1838 and the third Texas Secretary of the Navy from 1838 to 1839.

MUSEUMS AND ATTRACTIONS

THE PUDDIN HILL STORE 

This is really quite a unique place. This quaint little store front greets you into a world of a distraction for dieters. The store is right next to the bakery and candy kitchen of ‘Mary of Puddin Hill’. This site is part of the original Puddin Hill farm which was owned by James and Mary Horton in 1839. Puddin Hill has been using the same recipes for over 150 years for its cakes. This is no ordinary chockie store… this is truly a gourmet experience that even the lesser of the sweet tooth folks won’t be able to resist.

LAKE TAWAKONI

One of the largest lakes wholly within Texas. Completed 1960, it covers 36,700 acres. Impounded by 5.5-mile-long iron bridge dam on Sabine River, it has a shore line of 200 miles. Constructed and owned by the Sabine River authority of Texas. It is financed by the city of Dallas under terms of a water supply contract. Other towns also buy the lake’s water. Prehistoric animal bones and remains of a Tawakoni Indian village were discovered here. Lake Tawakoni is operated under the iron bridge division, s.r.a. of Texas. It embraces Wind Point Park, a public recreational resort.

LIBRARY MOVEMENT IN GREENVILLE

librarymovementGreenvilleMarkerIn 1897, Greenville’s Chautauqua literary and social circle formed the Women’s Review Club, which aimed to create a circulating library; each member donated books. The review club opened their library in 1900. By 1903, the popular library had to move to larger facilities. The club sought funds from philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, who offered $15,000 for a building. The local Federation of Women’s Clubs, under leadership of May Moulton Harrison, provided the site, and the city formed a board of trustees for the public library, which opened in 1904. The library moved to new facilities in 1954 and again in 1996. Renamed for local historian W. Walworth Harrison, the son of May Harrison, the library continues to serve its community.

MAJORS ARMY AIRFIELD

In 1941, Greenville received federal assistance to build a civilian airport as part of the country’s preparation for possible entry into World War II. In April 1941, U.S. Congressman Sam Rayburn notified Hunt County that the civilian airport project would become part of a $5 million Army Air Force training base housing 3,000 to 4,000 personnel and 300 airplanes. The base was named for Lt. Truett Majors, the first pilot from Hunt County killed in action in World War II. Construction of the base and three auxiliary airfields in the county boosted the local economy and provided employment for thousands of area residents. The base became fully operational on January 5, 1943. Majors Army Airfield provided cadet pilots with preflight and primary training. When not exercising, studying, or training in BT-13s and P-47s the cadets visited Greenville for recreation and to socialize with local citizens. In addition to U.S. Army Air Corps pilots, companies of Women’s Army Corps members, Royal Air Force pilots, and Mexican Air Force pilots were trained here. The base became an advanced training center before being deactivated on July 15, 1945.

SITE OF PHILLIPS FIELD/MAJORS STADIUM
majorstadiumIn 1929, Eula Lasater Phillips donated $3,500 to the Greenville Athletic Council to build an athletic field at this site in memory of her late husband, Frank Phillips. The first athletic event in Phillips Field was a football game between the Greenville High School Lions and the Leopards of Dallas Oak Cliff on Oct. 4, 1929. In 1930, the land transferred to the city, with management by the school district. Here, celebrated coach Henry Frank led the school football team to an undefeated season and the State Championship in 1933. In 1946, the field was realigned to become the home of a minor league baseball team, The Majors, named for Truett Majors, the first Greenville resident killed in World War II. More than 160,000 people attended Majors games in 1946, and Greenville fielded a number of competitive teams in the late 1940s. In 1947, the football stands were razed and replaced with a baseball stadium. On April 10, 1949, The Majors hosted an exhibition game against the New York Yankees, defeating them 4-3. Among those who participated for the Yankees that day were Casey Stengel, Manager, and Joe DiMaggio in center field. Another baseball great who played here was Monty Stratton, a Greenville native, who pitched a game for The Majors in 1950. Today, the stadium’s arched entryway, built by the Works Progress Administration in 1940, serves as a reminder of the countless athletes and fans who gathered here in the spirit of competition.

PRESIDENT’S HOUSE

Designed by Greenville architects George Lindsey and Roy Kilmer in 1927, The President’s House was built on land purchased from Daniel and Annie Bachman. The house exhibits an under-stated adaptation of Georgian revival style elements in its dark red brick and white trim with simple classical details. After the construction of a new President’s house in 1968, the house served as offices. In 1995, the home was renamed “Heritage House” and restored to its 1930s appearance for use as a heritage center.
1009 Rees St. (US 69), Greenville

HEADWATERS OF THE SABINE RIVER

A half mile to the west raises the Sabine River lower channel, of which separated New World empires of France and Spain and in 1836 became republic of Texas-United States border. Fork here is called Cow Leach, for Indian chief who lived in the area. This marker is on a 3-way watershed: flow to the north goes into the Sulphur and to the Mississippi; the west drains to the trinity; south goes into the Sabine, which forms Texas-Louisiana boundary and pours more water into Gulf of Mexico than any other Texas river (6,400,000 acre feet annually).
US 69, 1.3 mi. NW of Celeste

AudieMurphy

AUDIE MURPHY, AMERICAN COTTON MUSEUM

Nestled among ten acres of land in the heart of Hunt County, Texas, the Audie Murphy/American Cotton Museum has explored the rich and fascinating history of this region for over 20 years. Join us on a journey of discovery that will take you through the heyday of the cotton fields in the 1800?s to the battlefields of the 20th Century.
600 Interstate Highway 30, Greenville

NORTHEAST TEXAS CHILDREN’S MUSEUM

Since opening its doors in 2002, Northeast Texas Children’s Museum has served numerous children from the state, providing a creative and enriching learning experience through the museum’s many exhibits. We are thankful for our many friends and supporters. With help from the generous contributions from families, companies, and individuals, we are able to increase our programming, enhance our exhibit areas, and introduce new workshops and performers.
2501 State Highway 50, Commerce • (903) 886-6055

Leave a Reply